United States  

IndyCar Series

Auto racing series held in North America

IndyCar Series    ▸ Facts   ▸ Comments   ▸ News   ▸ Videos   

IndyCar Series: Auto racing series held in North America
The IndyCar Series, currently known as the NTT IndyCar Series under sponsorship, is the premier level of open-wheel racing in North America. Its parent company began in 1996 as the Indy Racing League (IRL), which was created by then Indianapolis Motor Speedway owner Tony George as a competitor to CART. In 2008, the IndyCar Series merged with CART's successor, the Champ Car World Series. The series is self-sanctioned by its parent company, INDYCAR, LLC.


You Might Like

Without the Indy 500, some IndyCar teams would have disappeared: 'I'm not sure we would have survived'

Had the 2020 Indianapolis 500 been shelved entirely, it likely would have had long-term implications for the NTT IndyCar Series.
USATODAY.com - Published

Simon Pagenaud goes from last to first to win IndyCar race at Iowa Speedway

After starting in 23rd, Simon Pagenaud roared back to win the first race of the Iowa IndyCar 250 at Iowa Speedway.
USATODAY.com - Published

Scott Dixon continues hot start to IndyCar season with win at Road America

Five-time champion Scott Dixon was back atop the podium at Road America on Saturday in the IndyCar Series' first race in front of fans this year.
USATODAY.com - Published

IndyCar racing fans return after late season start

Racing fans were out in their thousands on Saturday for the opening race of a weekend doubleheader at Road America, with IndyCar welcoming fans to its races for the first time this season. (July..
USATODAY.com - Published

Roger Penske buys Indianapolis Motor Speedway

Indianapolis Motor Speedway and the IndyCar Series were sold to Penske Entertainment Corp. in a stunning move Monday that relinquishes control of the iconic speedway. (Nov. 4)  
USATODAY.com - Published

Josef Newgarden wins 2019 IndyCar championship as Colton Herta wins season finale

Josef Newgarden finished eighth behind race winner Colton Herta Sunday at Laguna Seca, but that was good enough to win his second championship.
USATODAY.com - Published

IndyCar drivers Takuma Sato, Sebastien Bourdais throw punches in post-practice scrape in Toronto

Veterans Takuma Sato and Sebastien Bourdais came to blows following an incident during the final lap of practice for the Honda Indy Toronto.
USATODAY.com - Published

How widow coped with the death of husband Paul Dana after his IndyCar wreck

Just under two hours after his wreck at Homestead-Miami Speedway, IndyCar driver Paul Dana was pronounced dead at the age of 30 in 2006.
USATODAY.com - Published