Skip to main content
U.S. Edition
Thursday, July 29, 2021


Intergovernmental military alliance


The North Atlantic Treaty Organization, also called the North Atlantic Alliance, is an intergovernmental military alliance between 28 European countries and 2 North American countries. The organization implements the North Atlantic Treaty that was signed on 4 April 1949. NATO constitutes a system of collective defence whereby its independent member states agree to mutual defence in response to an attack by any external party. NATO's Headquarters are located in Haren, Brussels, Belgium, while the headquarters of Allied Command Operations is near Mons, Belgium.

0 shares 4 views

News coverage

NATO media coverage


More coverage

NATO: Russia needs deterrents

Bleacher Report AOL

NATO Secretary-General Jens Stoltenberg speaks to Amanpour about how President Biden and NATO can deal with Russia ahead of..