Skip to main content
U.S. Edition
Saturday, March 6, 2021

National Health Service

Publicly-funded healthcare systems in the United Kingdom

National Health Service
National Health Service

National Health Service (NHS) is the umbrella term for the publicly funded healthcare systems of the United Kingdom (UK). Since 1948 they have been funded out of general taxation. There are three systems which make up the "NHS". Health and Social Care in Northern Ireland was created separately and although it does not use the name "NHS" it is still often to referred to as such, particularly in reference to the overall health system in the UK. The four systems were established in 1948 as part of major social reforms following the Second World War. The founding principles were that services should be comprehensive, universal and free at the point of delivery—a health service based on clinical need, not ability to pay. Each service provides a comprehensive range of health services, free at the point of use for people ordinarily resident in the United Kingdom apart from dental treatment and optical care. In England, NHS patients have to pay prescription charges; some, particularly those receiving state benefits, are exempt.

0 shares 2 views

News coverage

You might like

National Health Service media coverage


More coverage